Eet: Like forgetting the words to your fav song :-|

The other day I was flipping through the channelsย and I landed on a young footballer making a rather interesting comment on an interview. He said the day that he was born, he didn’t cry out for his ‘mummy’ or ‘daddy’ (as is typical of babies) rather he cried for a football. That evening, I saw passion.

Like you, the first thought that crossed my mind was, what is my REAL passion in life. Let’s go back to the days when we were kids. Every time we went to any social gatherings, the first thing I would be asked is what position was I in my exams. Then the question that always followed this question was, “what do you want do when you grow up?” Boy oh boy. Did my responses in this regard vary! I will not bore you with my inconsistencies where my dream careers are concerned. But. I will share with you what has never changed. My love for music. If we have interacted even slightly, say on twitter, or even sat next to each other in a matatu that was playing music, you know that I love music. My love for music started when I was such a little girl. The first song I knew, like by heart, was Madonna’s “La Isla Bonita”. My classmates were so surprised that I could carry the whole song to the end, that they asked me to write the lyrics for them. That is how I created the “music book”. You know the “music book”! ๐Ÿ˜€

There was this time, I was watching my ultimate favourite TV Shows-Beverly Hills 90210, and there was this scene where they played a song. That song BLEW me away. First of all, I was amazed that there was someone somewhere on planet earth who happens to also think, that the world would end, if one forgot the words to their favorite song. No. This lady must be my soul mate. So the next day when I got to work, the first thing I did was to log on to the almighty google, where I googled the song, it’s lyrics, and it’s meaning. The song I talk about is none other than: *insert drumrolls* Eet by Regina Specktor.

… It’s like forgetting the words to your favorite song.
You can’t believe it; you were always singing along.
It was so easy and the words so sweet.
You can’t remember; you try to feel the beat.
You can’t remember; you try to move your feet…

The urban dictionary defines eet as “a feeling of emotion equivalent to forgetting the words to your favorite song”. Now you see why I say this girl is genius. She created a word!!! Oh my, I digress! This feeling right here, is one I have been having lately. I have forgotten what it is like to wake up in the morning with passion for what I do. Wait, that is not completely true. Every time I listen to music (which I do like ALL the time); every time someone hits me up on my DM or inbox (with an issue that is bugging them, and I am able to be there for them by listening and offering guidance); every time I interact with kids (God I love kids!!); every time I pick up a pen to write; every time I read a book; every time I go to church (and hear how amazing God is)… I. FEEL. PASSION! It’s the likkle things ๐Ÿ™‚

On a light note, I’m still figuring out what I want to do when I grow up. That question still gets me as confused as a termite in a yoyo. ๐Ÿ˜€

Yes, I just said that.

    • raymondchepkwony
    • November 3rd, 2010

    I love music…but cant sing shit… My passion is, and has always been SOCCER!… Great read!

    • Ahem. Notice I haven’t said ANYTHING about singing. ๐Ÿ™‚ Except for the occassional singing in the bathroom, well and singing along to songs, that’s as far as my singing goes. Keep the love for music alive brah!

    • sibbie
    • November 3rd, 2010

    *jumping up and down excitedly like a 2 year old* I love love love. . . Love music! Everytime I get a new album I have to google the lyrics. There’s nothing as bad as singing wrong lyrics! Been guilty of doing that too many a time.

    Oh you’ve reminded me of the Music book! Mayne. I remember i used to cut up the song and lyrics part from Sunday’s Young Nation and sticking them in my book. LOL! Oh and listening to SNS on KBC where some guy used to dictate lyrics to songs. Lol! Come to think of it, that was dead hilarious! Good ol’ days. . .

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oh, you totally are my music sister! I do that too. ALL the time. Google the lyrics, and pretend I’m the singer ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hahaha! I remember the lyrics dictation from KBC, gee! we are ol’ skool. Thanks for the laughs dearie.

    • Mokaya
    • November 30th, 2011

    Regina Specktor is just blessed! That is pure talent

    • Absolutely! Thanks for reading Mokaya, be sure to come back again ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

