Of Nudity. Avril. My take.

Did you catch Churchill Live the other day, when he had Avril and Marya on? I did. I’m that chick who is an out of the closet Genge fan. Before watching that show that day, I had always found Marya to be the hotter one between the two. But I changed my mind. Avril was sharp, intelligent and witty on the show. I found her elloquence quite attractive and I was impressed that she was tight with her folks eliminating any possibilities of daddy issues on her part.

Fast forward to yesterday. I am minding my own business on facebook (yes, I am on a twitter hiatus) and I see my FB friends going on about how Avril’s nude photos have been leaked. Pause. Really? I immediately felt negative emotions rise in me. Firstly, because I felt sorry for Avril. But this emotion quickly turned into simmered anger. Why? Because we have heard about these nude-photos-leaking-stories one too many times.

Girlfriends, WHY?! Why is it that important for you to want to freeze your bedroom escapades into photos or videos? This is not a rhetoric question. I really would like to know. For one we all know the moment you fall out with your boyfriend (or girlfriend-as is Avril’s case) those pictures will find their way to the public. The one thing everybody kept asking last night, was whether those were real photos of Avril, or were they photoshopped. Duh! The next time you my dear friend allow someone to take nude photos of you, please prepare yourself to go the full nine yards. That is what grown ups do. They accept any and all consequences that come with the actions they take.

I was priviledged to catch the very early episodes of Carol Mandi’s-Sebuleni. The one that Carol interviewed Kaz about what she went through after her nude photos were leaked. I cried through the whole interview. Kaz dropped her facade and she totally lay bare the hurt she went through during those very trying days of her life. I’d imagine the reason Kaz decided to do so, was to save you and me, from going through what she went through. If she could, she probably would beg us to never pose nude (unless we are doing so knowing full handy what to expect).

Jesus said, “Let he without sin, be the first to cast the stone”. I would like to state here that I’m in no way talking from a pedestal. My transgressions are many. Because I am a human being. I am just talking out of love. Tough love. Girls we really have to stop cheapening ourselves. If the men in our lives were to be brutally honest, they would tell us that such actions don’t in anyway add value to who we are. In fact such actions only show our weaknesses: low self esteem, lack of principles and many other underlying problems (which are really Dr. Frank Njenga’s forte).

On a light note, if you get a kick out of having people watch you while doing your thang, why don’t you go with your mate to a place people are likely to discover you, as you get your act on. No, it’s not my genius, it’s John Legend’s in his song – PDA (We just don’t care). Just don’t freeze the freaking moment!!! (pun intended). About the people who leak those photos, I have one thing to say to them. Karma is a female dog. And her bite is lethal. Tic. Toc.

Yeah, I just said that!

  1. what’s done in secret comes into the open- silly if you ask me. please take pics with your clothes on

    • Emphasis on the words “please take pics with your clothes on”.

    • savvy08
    • November 11th, 2010

    And it’s not just men who you’ll fall out with, even girlfriends you are making out with! And the camera man/woman!

    The question I’d also like answered is why take the pictures in the first place?

    • Savvy, we are yet to be told. Let’s hope someone will tell us how these things actually happen.

    • emy
    • November 11th, 2010

    IT’S A LOVELY PIECE.grown ass woman doing grown ass deeds.LOL. seriously, it’s all a publicity stunt.

    • Riri once said taking nude photos makes girls feel sexy. If these are our role models, then… these kinda stories will be inevitable. May be the problem is role models.. Hmmm, just a thought. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. I have to say I get why someone would take nude photos. But the cons definitely outweigh the pros. I mean really…your girlfriend leaking out the pics… #NOTcool. Good piece.

    • Wish you had indulged us on the cons. :)Thnx for stopping by.

  3. I completely agree with you on the nude pics thing. Let your imagination do the visuals! :p

    • Whatever happened to being mysterious? I thought it was an attractive quality. But what do I know?

  4. I don’t get it, but for me, When it’s over and dusted I cherish the moments we once had and I don’t need nude pics for that. I keep my clothes on unless we are both busy doing something. Shame on the cameraman too.

    • The times we live in. I suppose we are yet to see worse things. Sigh.

  5. Sad. Very sad it is.

  6. it made you do a blog post, shows where your attention is. Mirror mirror

  1. November 11th, 2010
  2. August 20th, 2011

Leave a Reply

