Why won’t this wretched cat stop chasing me?

I am so tired. Knackered even. I am short of breathe and gasping for air type-of-tired. Exhausted. It feels like I have been running all day (all the time these days) a la Jerry of the Tom and Jerry fame. The rat race has exhausted me, and I want to know who moved my cheese.

Allow me to digress for a littu bit. I love cartoons, though for someone saying they love cartoons, I have really neglected them. I once watched an amazing episode of Tom and Jerry where Jerry had gone on vacation in France. So he was lying somewhere on the beach and there was this cute little female rat (clad in a sexy bikini suit, complete with mind blowing stunnaz) that would get his orders by asking, “Bonjour Monsieur Jerry… ” in the cutest French accent ever!

Anywho. The other day I was thinking, how funny life is. It doesn’t take a genius to figure this out. But think about it, from the very first day you went to Nursery school, you have been on the move. Constantly. Every single day, you have woken up to go somewhere. Whether school, work or even to run errands. And this is the funny thing, that if you didn’t wake up to go anywhere, for a long time, then you would get depressed.

Does this end? This running around? I guess not, huh. It was written and even cast on stone that human beings would pay for the sin of eating the apple by labouring like donkeys. Yap. God in his infinite wisdom decided that. There is no appeal dear human beings. Try and stay without doing something (whether you have all the money in the world or not) and tell me how empty you feel. Such are the mysteries of life.

I have learnt then, that like Jerry (insert cute little French accent here for effect), sometimes all one needs to do when the madness becomes too much to bear, is to get some rest. A vacay is badly needed. France perhaps? Because no matter what I do, Tom (read: my work) won’t stop chasing me!

Come to think of it, why won’t Jerry just shoot the blasted Tom cat, DEAD?!

Yeah, I just said that!

  1. Hey, Shuhi? I didn’t even know this was your blog and I read you sometimes. This is Wanjagi…nice post. The sad part about it is, yes, we humans feel empty when we do nothing, and here I am seriously contemplating leaving my job to be a bohemian artist who backpacks to other countries and writes or draws or does some obscure sort of art…
    Sigh…
    Then will get married and spend the next years raising her kids and possibly home-schooling them. I was those rat-racers but something changed…what???
    OK this is becoming a blogpost…
    Cheers!

    • Wanjagi you are an extraordinary writer. I stopped by your blog the day you posted this comment, and thanks to my spaced-outness did not manage to reply. Thank you for reading me and by the way… I used to feel the same way about raising kids and home schooling… lol. What a coincidence! πŸ™‚

  2. He can’t shoot him, ever noticed how even Tom doesn’t eat Jerry? He catches him but finds a way to release and let him go for tomorrow life with Jerry is a Life full and complete… If you quit work what would one do? Sit? and for how long? Interesting post Shekyn

    • Lol. True Tom will never kill Jerry. That’s just how it is. Thanks for making time πŸ™‚

  3. Atta girl πŸ˜€
    I don’t think one can die DIE in cartoon world…Can they?
    Anyway, we all feel like that sometimes…so take that holiday or weekend off, dust off the fleas and get back in

    • That is why we all love cartoons. It is the painless world. You get bonked and get back right into shape, innit? πŸ™‚ I took two days off, and Easter is around the corner.

    • Eve Hearts Photography
    • February 21st, 2011

    Sasa you are crying ati you having a rat-race… ebu add two kiddos to that equation!
    Even a vacay is work in and of itself!
    I settle for long baths… my world away!

    • I can’t even begin to imagine how hectic motherhood is. And I haven’t even started. Poor me. If only we had a bath tub at my digs 😦 I got a few days off (two) and I’m kinda recharged. Thanks for reading.

  4. Come to Rwanda, it’s a beautiful country. Hills everywhere, cool weather, mountains, clean fresh air… give me a call!!!!

    • I have always wanted to visit Rwanda. I will call in this favour, you just wait. Thanks Savvy!

  5. There’s a day I skived work … and missed it. I almost slapped myself! I’d gotten the afternoon to myself and got bored to tears (well I was also broke). Breathers are good but work is also great.

    Consider visiting Shompole Lodge …(read http://bikozulu.wordpress.com/2011/02/28/sojourn/)

    • You wanted to go back to work? I would get the “got bored” bit, but I hope not to go back for work πŸ™‚ Oh, I read the Shompole Lodge post by Biko. Best believe, it entered my bucket list on the spot! Thanks babe.

    • Tyra
    • March 2nd, 2011

    HA HA ..I’ll be going to France soon (seriously)…..i might just carry you in my suitcase! …but wait who says I’ll be needing one?? so……
    au revoir mon amie!!

    • I will take your comment as a compliment. That I am small enough to fit in a suit-case and leave it at that. πŸ˜›

  6. its this thing we call beautiful life. Cya arnd

Leave a Reply

