Of Silence and Gold…

“Sometimes getting rid of noise in your life allows you the space to hear yourself think”. ~ Unknown

I read this quote a year ago. I don’t remember where. When I read it, I was going through a “noisy season” so to speak. So when seasons of life changed and I ended up in a “noisy season” again, as I shared on this post, I felt inspired to deftly escape the issues that were gnawing at me. I know I went a little overboard describing what was happening then, but I did so half in jest because things were not looking up.

To stop feeling overwhelmed, I off-loaded undertakings that I felt were superfluous with a view to remain only with the important ones. Who knew that social-networks could be a task? Who knew that a ringing phone could irk someone till kingdom come? I went easy on social-networks, and brought my cell-phone interactions to an all time low, got some days off work and I just chilled like a villain. Ok, I kid. But I started to relax eventually. What took me by surprise though is that things got worse, before they got better. I really didn’t see that coming but hey I live to tell the tale.

Listening to people that have succeeded: motivational speakers, actors, political leaders, corporate leaders such as CEOs of large organizations, I learn that everyone goes through hard times. I once told my father that life is hard, and he asked me “as compared to what?”. These things that we go through are part of the journey to our destiny and they are designed by God (I believe) to get us to our destiny as better people. It is not to say that we can’t get defeated, but when we doβ€”a break does suffice. After all didn’t God himself rest on the 7th day? That is before he resumed on the 8th day to create me… πŸ™‚

I wished to share the lessons that I learnt during that season (which is thankfully over!) on this post, but I realized it was taking me too long to write them down. So I decided to write this come-back-post first. Those lessons will definitely feature in the posts to come.

Like a phoenix I have risen again, only this time with a resolve to not get back down again. I’m so blessed. It’s great to be back beloved.

I’m back bitches!

Yeah, I just said that.

  1. “I once told my father that life is hard, and he asked me β€œas compared to what?” wise words by your father. And welcome back blogmate.

  2. Glad to have you back, bitch!

  3. classic

  4. Yaay! She’s back! Now out with the stories…. πŸ™‚

  5. Wow, you’re back and so am I. Okay!

  6. the wise have a saying that “in the journey of life, rest if you must, but never give up the journey.”

    • No plans to give up are underway. Thanks for stopping by.

    • nkirdizzle
    • July 12th, 2011

    Welcome back dearie πŸ™‚

    ‘These things that we go through are part of the journey to our destiny and they are designed by God (I believe) to get us to our destiny as better people. ‘

    This right here gave me a bit of hope.
    I am glad you are at a much better place now.

    • Heisenberg
    • October 13th, 2011

    I recommend The Road Less Travelled by Scott Peck.

    • This must be a good week. Second book recommendation I’m getting on my blog. Big up! πŸ™‚

  1. August 20th, 2011

Leave a Reply

