My Story: Of Blood Donors & Life Saving

December is upon us again. Woop! I always say December is the Friday of months. TGID πŸ™‚ Every single day in December always feels so holiday-like and the pressure that one feels through out the year tends to subside. It is usually a month of celebration in my family because both my siblings and my nephew were born in December. And what do you know, thee boyfriend was also born in December. *giggles* Throw in some Jamhuri Day, Christmas day and Boxing Day and you have seven days of celebrations. That’s before we even count the eves, hehehe.

Three years ago, I had my first dark December. I lost my only brother to Cancer. If you are a reader of this blog, you know the whole story. If you are new to this blog, you may find my attempt at narrating what happened here. My brother suffered from a condition known as Hodgkin’s Lymphoma which is a type of Cancer. He suffered from this condition for five years before succumbing to it. His hospital visits were characterized by chemotherapy, surgeries and blood transfusions.

In the early stages of his diagnosis, the doctors informed my family that my brother needed blood. To which we thought, “cool, why don’t y’all get down to it?” This is because none of us had the slightest inkling of how blood transfusions are carried out. We later learnt that we needed to get blood donors because the blood in the hospital’s blood-bank would not be sufficient. Somehow the responsibility to find these blood donors fell squarely on me. I have never felt so clueless. I needed to convince ten male donors to come all the way to the hospital and willingly donate blood.

Because I didn’t have twitter then, I went through my phone book, sent mass sms(es) pleading with people to come to the hospital the next day (yes, it was very urgent) and donate blood. The response was overwhelming. So many people turned up, including strangers and with joyful hearts they donated blood to save my brother’s life.

I have good news. Looking for blood donors is now a thing of the past. I recently joined a wonderful initiative appropriately dubbed Wanadamu. These noble group of people have taken it upon themselves to register willing blood donors, who are called upon whenever there is a need for blood donation. They reduce the gap between the willing donor and the patient that needs blood. You may read more about it here.

My brother eventually died–you may say, but it is because nothing else could be done. What those wonderful people that donated blood for him (every time they were called upon) may not know is that they gave us three more Christmas(es) with our brother. We will eternally be grateful to these friends and kind strangers.

You could do the same. Please register yourself to donate blood today and give someone a chance to see another Christmas. You never know, Santa could be watching. πŸ™‚

Yeah, I just said that!

    • savvy
    • December 5th, 2011

    I love donating blood, actually! Will register ASAP! Plus I’m O+ so I can donate to all positives!

  1. Woop! Thanks Savvy, you rock! Go girl πŸ™‚

  2. Sorry about your brother. I read the whole story when you posted it here and then again in True Love.

    Dec is THE month. Enjoy dear. The birthdays and the family gatherings and all. Merry Christmas!

    • Hey Shiko. Tushapoa. Thanks for reading.

      Tis the Season to be jolly… fa-la-la-la-la-la-la πŸ™‚
      Have a jolly good one xo

  3. Pole about your bro and a good thing you got to spend more time with him. Thanks for sharing the info.

  4. Hey beautiful,
    been a while since I stopped by…. and coincidentally again, its abt Dandara….. I guess this blog brings us full circle as we close 2011 since its thru ur poignant narration of losing him that I came to know you!
    Happy Buffday to you all December babies and hope his light continues to shine brighter thru each one of you!
    PS – I did notice the smile when you mentioned your beau DM….. πŸ™‚
    Hugs!!

    • Hey Eve, I love how you bring warmth to my blog with your lovely comments. Yes DM makes me smile. Hehehe. Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

