Valentine’s Day: The Greatest Love of All

(via google images)

Is it just me or is everyone not celebrating Valentine’s Day these days? A trend? I’m not sure. Every one has their reasons for not celebrating Val’s. Mine? We agreed to love each other through out the year as opposed to being mean to each other all year long and spending thousands of shillings on each other on just one day–14th of February. I think the idea behind Valentine’s Day is really a noble one. It is a day to celebrate love.

Love is a beautiful thing. Being loved is an even better thing. I testify! When someone really loves you with all they have, their mind, body and soul you feel like the luckiest person in the world. In related news: I’m the luckiest girl in the world. But here’s the problem: if you don’t love yourself first, you will not be able to accept the love of another. No matter what they do for you, they will always fall short. So why don’t you make today about showing love to the one person you may have neglected to love–yourself. My question to you lady, do you love yourself? It doesn’t matter whether you are single or in a relationship, you must learn to truly love yourself first, before you can accept anyone else to love you and before you can offer your love to someone else.

So if you are a hopeless romantic and you belong to the group of Valentine’s Day fiends, and are hoping for something extraordinary to happen today, I’m not here to judge you. If you woke up feeling that today would be the worst Val’s day ever, I’m here to give you ideas on what you can do to ensure that you don’t go to bed crying but smiling and happy πŸ™‚ Without further ado:

β€’ Buy yourself a gift. That nice handbag or pair of shoes you’ve been drooling over, go gerrit!
β€’ Take yourself to the movies. A very nice movie is currently showing and it’s called The Descendant–it is amazing! Go watch it alone or with your girls.
β€’ Go to the spa. Nothing will take away the blues like a nice back rub and time at the spa. Pamper yourself girl!
β€’ Buy a friend a gift. You know that girlfriend of yours that has always been there for you? Yes, that one? Buy her something special and make her day. You know what the Bible says, “It is more blessed to give than to receive”.
β€’ Listen to some good music! Whitney Houston’s music ladies? You know we loved her so much.

I will tell you something for free. Nothing is more attractive than a lady who is comfortable with herself. Give yourself that gift today. Love. YOU. Learning to love yourself, is the greatest love of all!

Yeah, I just said that!

  1. Good advice ……

    • Lamzana
    • February 14th, 2012

    I bought myself the most expensive dress I have ever owned yesterday and Yep, I’m wearing it today :).

    • Way to go girlfriend! I want a photo pap πŸ˜€

    • Nymmoh
    • February 14th, 2012

    One word: Wisdom!

    • Urbane Kenyan
    • February 14th, 2012

    As Nymmoh says, Wisdom.

  2. As you testify, you’ve got a witness here!

  3. “I will tell you something for free. Nothing is more attractive than a lady who is comfortable with herself” You can say that again. If only all the ladies would get that into their minds. I am a man and I reiterate that… confidence and self-assurance is everything. It’s irresistible.

  4. to love oneself is the best place to start

  5. I’ve never been big on Vals (other than it’s the B-day of someone I love dearly). I have no issues with it but I do feel awkward when someone gifts me something over vals; totally catching me flatfooted πŸ™‚

  1. February 14th, 2012
  2. February 14th, 2012
  3. February 14th, 2012
  4. February 14th, 2012
  5. February 14th, 2012
  6. February 15th, 2012

Leave a Reply

