My Personal Safari…(Update)

I finally embarked on my self-discovery journey. Hoorah! NOT. No one could have prepared me enough for it. My coach warned me severally that this process would be an involving even intense one. I didn’t realize how ill prepared I was for it.

The last two weeks have been particularly challenging. My mind has been consistently preoccupied with the things that this process has extricated. It has been impossible to put anything coherent together in terms of a blog. I have barely slept. I’m used to sleeping by ten o’clock every night yet I have found myself sleeping past twelve o’clock one too many times. I’m drained and tired. I have cried myself silly. I have even lost my voice *croak croak* πŸ™‚ Forlorn much? I’m only one month into this personal safari and I’m having an internal battle as to whether I should carry on although quitting is NOT an option.

Why would I want to put this out there you may ask, especially considering I promised to be more positive this year? Because in less than two months I will write about the benefits I will have reaped from this personal journey. I’m confident that I will emerge a better woman. I will be more grounded, able to exercise my decision making muscle well, self-confident, happy and able to live my life optimally. Most importantly I will be as light as a feather (emotionally) because I will have dealt with my baggage.

I came across this very powerful quote last week. It strengthened my resolve to keep on keeping on even when this journey becomes tough. It reads:

“You can accept or reject the way you are treated by other people, but until you heal the wounds of your past, you will continue to bleed. You can bandage the bleeding with food, with alcohol, with drugs, with work, with cigarettes, with sex, but eventually, it will all ooze through and stain your life. You must find the strength to open the wounds, stick your hands inside, pull out the core of the pain that is holding you in your past, the memories, and make peace with them.”

~ Iyanla Vanzant

So if you meet me and I’m looking a littu haggard, please ‘schoose me.

Yeah, I just said that!

Ps. Easter Holidays are around the corner. I smell the sweet scent of a getaway πŸ™‚

Update: I’m taking a brief blog hiatus to concentrate on this journey. Stay fab fam.

  1. Alabastron?

    • πŸ™‚ What makes you think so?

      • It just sounds very much like it…everything in the post…but I could be drawing parallels since I have done the course…

        • Now that we are talking alabastron here, Rockhead, how did it work for you? Any change?

          Shekyn, all the best, I shall be here, waiting patiently for the new you. πŸ˜€

        • Check your DM missy. Full 411 there in πŸ™‚

        • I’m going to see you sideways shortly πŸ™‚

  2. Wish you all the best on your journey. I liked ‘In the meantime’ by Iyanla; a lot of hard truths in there. Interestingly, our post for this week is times titled “The journey within”.

    • I read the post “The journey within” and I completely loved it. You eves are doing a great job over at Project44. Is “In the meantime” a book? I would love to read. Thanks for stopping by as always.

    • Nymmoh
    • April 3rd, 2012

    Honey, we need to talk 😦

    • No frowny face love. You know me, I’m very expressive of how I feel, but I’m fine… Gtalk soon?

  3. I should do a journey too!

    • Please please please. Every woman MUST do take this journey.

  4. Weuwe! We are now officially worried!

    • No need to be. I see the light at the end of the tunnel, and I can assure you it’s no oncoming train πŸ™‚

  5. You are truly brave….I would probably need a travelling companion

    • nkirdizzle
    • April 4th, 2012

    I am curious, So what is the itinerary for this personal safari??

    • I will contact you with the details shortly on DM πŸ™‚

        • nkirdizzle
        • April 4th, 2012

        Looking forward to reading it once I am back. All the best in your journey πŸ™‚

    • Nikittacole
    • April 5th, 2012

    ‘Getaway’ stood out for me. Do enjoy. You deserve it. All the best in your journey. You are brave. One of my mantras is, if it only hurts once in a while, why fix it? But that right there bandage metaphor done got me thinking.

    • In my next post or the one after I will tell you why you shouldn’t hold on to hurt πŸ™‚ Thanks as always.

  6. May your path lead you to what you search for…

    • soniisugar
    • April 9th, 2012

    Thank God I stumbled on this post! I need to take that journey as well . I think it takes courage. I have been carrying a lot of baggage and i guess its time I let it go? I have no idea where or how to start.
    Details please?

    • Hi Sonii. Thanks so much for saying that this post helped you because that really encouraged me to keep on keeping on. I will contact you kesho. Sorry for late response, I was away πŸ™‚

  7. your journey sounds powerful and transforming. keep sharing the journey with us and congrats on taking this on – you are brave.

    • Are you or have you taken the journey? Your recent posts have really been speaking to me πŸ™‚

      • wonderful to hear that posts have been speaking to you. fab. the past few years of my life have been a thoroughly intense, amazing journey… i didnt follow a particular “programme” but the journey was/is made… hmm… tuendelee kuongea!

  8. I am so intrigued… This sounds like a very hard thing to do so you are hella brave both for doing it n for sharing. Is there a dm with my name on it?:)

    • Oh yes. Make that many DMs. I will holla at you kesho. Yaay for reading you here πŸ™‚

  9. I’ve been on a self-discovery journey as well (maybe the same one) I’m hoping that by the end of it I’ll be bouncing of the walls or at least much a much calmer soul. Wish you well in your journey, luv! Hope you find what you’re looking for πŸ™‚

    • Good stuff!!! You say you hope you will be … does that mean that you are currently taking this journey, like me? That is beyond cool my dear. Let’s meet here and exchange notes, shall we? πŸ™‚

  10. Haven’t been here before, so am glad to make your acquaintance. First thing I thought too… Alabastron.

    • Damn girl. You nailed it the first time πŸ™‚ Glad to make your acquaintance too. I’m loving what I see at yours. Blessings.

  11. Looking forward to your coming back and reading about the lessons that you learned on the journey. πŸ™‚

    • mhamishi
    • September 26th, 2012

    So what is the purpose of this post if everyone is being DM?

      • Shekyn
      • October 11th, 2012

      What would you like answered and I will answer it here?

Leave a Reply

