The One About Returning and A Place Called Kichakani

Hey good people! This is the first time I have started a blog by greeting you my Reader. It’s because after a two month blogging hiatus, I feel like it would be rude to walk in here as if two months of not posting didn’t happen. That, and also my parents taught me better. Hope y’all have been well? I know I’ve been! Can I scream here? Wuuuuuh!!! It is so good to be back. I feel a million tonnes lighter. I’m literally jumping off the walls (yes, murasta I jacked your line, shoot me?). Life is good people.

I finally completed my self awareness journey. I have never been more proud of myself. I’m so glad I didn’t quit when the going got tough, so glad that I put in the amount of work that I did to deal with my baggage, because it was worth it. All the tears I shed, all the pain I felt during the process was such a little price to pay. It was TOTALLY worth it. I have so many stories from this process that I will be sharing here, so you definitely wanna keep it locked.

Last time we talked here, I told you I was smelling a getaway. It happened! I went to this amazing little get-away place in Gilgil called Kichakani and it was completely breathtaking.


In all the years that I did my Geography lessons, I never once heard of Lake Ol Bollasat. Or did I? Lake Ol Bollasat is so beautiful and serene. It had little black duckies that kept passing by in groups of threes. It was a nice place to chill and clear my head. Plus I had excellent company πŸ˜€

Little black duckies (Photo by Yours Truly!)

Here’s more of the pictures for your viewing pleasure.

The Cottage’s Sitting Room

The Cottage’s Kitchenette

The Cottage’s Balcony (Lovely! Just lovely!)

The Cottage’s Fireplace (Absolutely breathtaking)

On the extreme right are the stairs to go to the cottage’s bedroom and balcony. I fell over backwards for the Africanesque decor and how removed the place is from Nairobi’s hustle and bustle.

Now that we have the where-have-you-been-for-two-months-business out of the way, it’s time for me to make this blog worthwhile by completing this thought-provoking post that I have been writing for the last two months.

Yeah, I just said that!

Photo Credits: Yours Truly & David Mutua

  1. Hahahaha! Just proud to be mentioned. Jumping off the walls we are. Looks quite awesome. Waiting for that thought provoking blog with bated breath. O_O

    • You are a celeb like that. Hehehe. Whoa! Can’t believe it’s Thursday already and I haven’t finished it yet. 😦

  2. Welcome back! Good to hear that the journey was totally worth it.

    I think I should ask for a refund from my geography teachers as I did not know of Lake Ol Bollasat…such as an interesting name as well. This place looks so inviting.

    Now that you are back, you did promise to write a piece for Project 44 about ego and relationships. We’re waiting on the other side πŸ˜‰

    • Hi Project 44. I saw this message in the morning and I find that I’m smiling a lot at just the thought of writing for your extremely large audience. I will do something and hopefully forward it to you before the end of next week. I hope that’s okay?

  3. I’m sorry I couldn’t make it for the Alabastron thingie 😦 Too many commitments.

    Glad you didn’t quit so maybe we can learn from you!

    • Hi Savvy. Not a problem at all. There is always next time dear πŸ™‚

  4. I would love to scream with you but am wary of being near a lady who is screaming people look at you suspiciously, like “this one must be a thug”… and oh welcome back πŸ™‚

  5. nice review. if you have a moment pass by mine-blog- at http://www.isincera.wordpress.com

  6. Welcome back! Looking forward to learning from you from your journey.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

