My Best 12 of 2012

Today, I promised myself that I would write something for my blog. The first thing that came to mind–that I could write about, was what 12 things happened in 2012? I had completely forgotten that I did such a post in 2010! I must say that 2012 was one TOUGH year. But in the spirit of Christmas and good cheer, I will count the things that made 2012, oh! so much better.

Image courtesy Google Images

Image courtesy Google Images

1. YouTube

No. I did not discover YouTube in 2012. But, I discovered YouTube Fashionistas and Make-up Vlogs in 2012. My goodness! It’s like this was the piece of puzzle that was waiting to complete my fashion quest. Of notable mention is Brit Pop Princess and Shirley B. Eniang. Their British accents are to die for! ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

2. Alabastron

Remember how I told y’all I went on a self-renewing journey? It was Alabastron. That was one of the best decisions I made in 2012. I dealt. With baggage, with my past, with fear, with self-doubt, with every demon. I’m reaping the fruits of the hard work I put in. In bountiful proportions.

3. Voluntary Work

After I completed my self-renewingย journeyย (refer to no. 2 above), I joined the Alabastron Network Trust as a Volunteer Guide. I gave three months of my time, to holding the hand of another woman, as she takes her journey. One word. Fulfilling.

4. Resigning from Formal Employment

Looking back, I think it was a huge risk to take but I have never been more sure of anything. Everyday I hug myself (mentally mostly) because I listened to my innermost yearning. Go me!

5. Taking My Driving Test

I managed to actually cross-out a new year’s resolution and bucket-listย itemย (see number 9) with this one. I not only passed my driving test, but I can also kick serious behind at driving a manual car! Goodbye fear.

6. Lipstick

I wore more lipstick in 2012 than I have ever done in all my years combined. My favorite colors are nude and pink shades from Botanics. This lipstick is a major win!

7. Nokia 808 Pureview

This piece of cellular genius, was gifted to me by my lovely boyfriend for my birthday. It has a 41MP camera. Fierce! Not to mention it records such high resolution videos. Watch out photography, I’m coming atcha!

8. The Erykah Badu Concert

If you know me, you know that I’m a complete sucker for Neo Soul music. So when I heard Erykah Badu was coming to Nairobi, I was stoked! The concert was mind boggling! Completely awesome. Many thanks to ze bebe of ze me for hooking me up ๐Ÿ™‚

9. Writing Career

Hi. My name is Shekyn and I am a writer. Yep. Things have started going towards that direction. It is such an interesting journey that I have decided to journal, here, in a category that I will call the journal. Another reason to love this blog? ๐Ÿ™‚

10. Subscribing to Ramit’s Sethi

A friend recommended that I subscribe to Ramit’s email. He of “I will teach you to Be Rich” fame. Lawdy lawd! The wealth of information that I have gotten from reading his emails is priceless.

11. Newest Fixer in Town

Family is the second important thing in my life. After God. This year I came through proper for them. I sourced for a car, bought a car, started a cab business, registered a company, did interior decoration and helped pick the best furniture, all for my loved ones. Say hallo to the newest fixer in town.

12. Two Years of Relationship Bliss

Yass! And we celebrated our second year anniversary at the spa! Memorable. The end.

This is going to be my last post for this year. Here’s wishing you and yours a Merry Christmas and a Happy 2013. Remember to register as a voter. That is the first step towards changing the leadership of this country. Who you vote for after that, is your prerogative. That is if the Mayan Apocalypse does not happen. Ha!

Yeah, I just said that!

  1. A wonderul year full of amazing events! Well done in all your successes and here is wishing you many more in the future. Have a great Christmas and a Happy 2013 where we’ll look forward to more of your inspired writing. That is ofcourse, if the Maya thing is wrong…:-)

    • Yes Woolie. Half full glass perspective. Thanks for stopping by as always. Happy holidays and let’s hope the Mayan thing is a hoax.

  2. hey i love your writing…its just beautiful…splendid. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Daisy am so so proud of you ๐Ÿ™‚ you have and will always remain a star ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love your courage and “go getter” spirit… YOU will make it as long as you set your mind to something…. Lots of Wedos for the New Year.

    • Awww! Thanks love. Means a lot coming from you. Mob wendos for the New Year.

  4. I’m jealous of your boyfriend..in a good way. Erykah Badu and the phone are proof enough that he is crazy about you (I’m so sad I missed Erykah). Happy Holidays!

    • Hahahaha! You are so sweet to say that. I let him know that the world has noticed how awesome he is ๐Ÿ™‚ Don’t worry I bet the new year will bring even more artistes. Happy Holidays dearie.

  5. I’m happy for you! Happy holidays dear ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Grand baby
    • December 21st, 2012

    Love the 2012 list and congrats on the driving test, the business, the family, the relationship….. now that you outted yourself on the camera phone, will we get to see more pics in the new year!?

    • Hey Grand baby! So thrilled that you stopped by here. Yes, more photos for 2013 indeed. Mwaaah x

  6. Happy new year Shekyn! Please share with me your e-mail address an e-mail is awaiting you.

    • Mad Woman
    • January 2nd, 2013

    oh so nice of you to post. I wish you the very best in 2013!

    • Thanks lady ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish you the same and lots of blessings in 2013!

    • Beatrice
    • June 27th, 2013

    Thoroughly enjoyed the post; one word: awesome.
    Need to get me a number 4 from your list, been thinking am crazy but this is full proof that am not mad ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Thanks for stopping by. I think I’m cutting a niche as a consultant for people who want number 4. Holla if interested.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

